Leonis Adobe Museum & Plummer House

The Leonis Adobe Museum is a historical monument and living history museum dedicated to restoring, preserving, and sharing California ranch life as it was in the 1880s. Built in the 1870s by Miguel Leonis—the six-foot-four, French-Basque "King of Calabasas"—the Leonis Adobe was saved from demolition by the efforts of activists in the early Los Angeles preservation movement. The Monterey-style house was named Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monument #1 in 1962 and opened as a museum in 1966. Today, the museum welcomes visitors to step back into the world of Miguel Leonis and his Chumash-Tongva Native American wife Espiritu. Collections feature objects owned by the Leonis family, historic wagons and farm equipment, and unique archival material relating to the history of the San Fernando Valley. Visitors can feed animals authentic to the period, including merino sheep and goats, and see Percheron draft horses and longhorn cattle.


23537 Calabasas Road,
Calabasas, CA 91302



Opening Hours

Sat 10am-4pm, Sun 1-4pm

Open Days

Saturday, Sunday


The Valley


Children, Historical Sites, Aquariums and Zoos


Parking on-site, Free parking, Outdoor, Always free admission, Family-friendly, Great for kids

Nearby Museums

Forest Lawn Museum

Forest Lawn Museum

1712 S Glendale Avenue,
Glendale, CA 91205
Los Angeles Zoo

Los Angeles Zoo

5333 Zoo Drive,
Los Angeles, CA 90027
Skirball Cultural Center

Skirball Cultural Center

2701 N. Sepulveda Blvd.,
Los Angeles, CA 90049

More Museums You Might Like

Sunnylands Center & Gardens

Sunnylands Center & Gardens

37977 Bob Hope Drive,
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
Museum of Ventura County

Museum of Ventura County

100 E. Main Street,
Ventura, CA 93001
Orange County Great Park / Palm Court Arts Complex

Orange County Great Park / Palm Court Arts Complex

8000 Great Park Blvd.,
Irvine, CA 92618